Connecticut Conference of Municipalities

Connecticut Conference of Municipalities:

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) is Connecticut's statewide association of towns and cities. Its 140 member municipalities contain over 90 percent of the state's population. CCM represents municipalities at the General Assembly, before the State executive branch and regulatory agencies, and in the courts.

CCM provides member cities and towns with a wide array of other services, including management assistance, individualized inquiry service, assistance in municipal labor relations, technical assistance and training, policy development, research and analysis, publications, information programs, and service programs such as workers' compensation, liability-automobile-property, risk management, energy cost containment, and revenue collection assistance.

Federal representation is provided by CCM in conjunction with the National League of Cities.

CCM was founded in 1966. It is governed by a Board of Directors, elected by the member municipalities, with due consideration given to geographical representation, municipalities of different sizes, and balance of political parties.

Numerous committees of municipal officials participate in the development of CCM policy and programs. CCM has offices in New Haven (headquarters) and in Hartford.